Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

The woods of West Limerick are set to resonate to the revs of racing engines when the West Limerick Forest Rally takes place on Sunday February 10th.The rally is based in Kantoher Business Park, near New Castle West and it marks the opening round of the 2013 Valvoline Motorsport Ireland Forest Rally Championship. The event is being organised and promoted jointly by the Forestry Committee and Limerick Motor Club.

Experienced rally official Barry Duggan is the clerk of the course and he has picked 2 classic stages that will run twice with a total stage distance of 40km.

Duggan said "The stages are fast and smooth and they are in a forest complex that found favour when last used in 2007. I expect the cars and drivers will be tested to the limit. The whole ethos of the rally is value for money. The entry fee is €350 and the route with a total distance of 50km is very compact. It is an excellent rally for newcomers to the woods and I am glad there is a lot of interest from our forest regulars and some new faces".

Scrutiny, service and administration all take place in rally headquarters in Kantoher Business Park. First car is away at 12 noon and the finish is scheduled for 16:00hrs.

Entries are available from Trisha Hogan at Ardsallagh, Youghal, Co Cork.086 1233742.

Entries received as of January 17th include:

Pat O'Connell/Mark Wiley Evo 9 (Cashel)oconnell-wiley

Michael Ryan/James Lowry Honda Civic (Cashel)

Paul Fitzgerald/Pierce Doheny Escort Mk2 (Charleville)

Brian O'Donnell/TBA (Tubbercurry)

Declan O’Regan/TBA (Ennis)  

Kyle Orr/TBA Evo 8 (Dromore Co.Down)

Gearoid O' Regan/TBA (Banagher, Offaly)  

Joseph Allen/TBA (Rockchapel)

Edna McNulty/Paul Sheridan Impreza (Co.Tyrone)

Bobbie Benskin/Nicky Hegarty Escort Mk2 (Co.Cork)

Danny Creedon/Tom Foley (Milstreet)

Ger/James Lucey Evo 8 (Ballyvourney)

Jer Connors/TBA Subaru (Ballinamult, Co.Waterford) 

Jimmy Deane/Peter Murphy Escort (Lombardstown)  

Tommy O’Connell/Brian Duggan Escort Mk2 (Derry)

Shane McGirr/Jackie Elliott Starlet RWD (Fivemiletown)

Mick O'Brien/Greg Shinnors Focus WRC (London)